Tuesday, May 3, 2011

KMASC Days 1-3

I have been trying to get to my computer to post for 3 days.  Life has certainly been getting in the way.... So, here is a recap of my first three days.


Sunday:
Weighed in.  Also measured everything that I always measure when I am freshly re-embarking on a fitness regimen, and at regular intervals during that time.  I find measurements to be highly important on those weeks where weight loss may be low, but the tape measure may still show positive change, even when it is minimal.  My numbers weren't as good in a couple of areas compared to last time I measured, in January, but that was after about 3 weeks of the C25K program I just restarted...  Ah yes, after measurements I went to the gym.  A new gym actually.  I already belong to 24 hour fitness but most of the time they are ridiculously mobbed.  I was told about a gym close to my job that is brand new and only $10 a month with no commitment.  the equipment is brand new and at 10am on a Sunday I was one of 3 people on the two long rows of treadmills.  I made it through day one of C25K, probably went a total of 2 miles in 30 minutes with my walking rate at 3.6mph and running at 5mph.  After I finished my walk/run I moved on to the weight machines.  I worked abs/back (an every time at the gym thing) and then worked my arms/shoulders, for a total of about 45 minutes.  


Monday:
Weighed myself as I do every day.  I know, I know, it's bad practice: I expect to see ups and downs with an overall trend in one direction or another, or as I have been for the past couple of months going up and down the same 10 pounds.  I do it more to watch my hydration level than to monitor my daily weight per se.  I am an RN and the quickest indicator of dehydration is weight.  My eating has not changed significantly as of yet in the challenge the way my exercise has so I expected to see myself around the same as the day before, but I was higher.  I was also really really sore.  Most specifically the front of my thighs were hurting with every step and worse with every sit down/stand up.  My original plan had been to go to the gym, but I decided to forgo that for a 5 mile bike ride after work.  By the time work got out my legs hurt worse, my boyfriend asked me to go for a walk and I went to get some exercise and after a couple of miles had mostly talked myself out of the idea of riding my bike 5 miles....  Well, the bf fell asleep after the walk due to allergy crisis and I suddenly felt motivated to go for that bike ride, which I did and it felt pretty good.  


Today:
Well another morning on the scale another even higher number!  Gah! well, I know my sodium intake has been a bit high, and hmmm I was really moody at the end of last week...and it is the start of the month.... Well hello PMS, I wasn't thinking about you: I have an IUD and don't get a period and only sporadically have bad bouts of PMS even still- and suddenly the past week or so is feeling that way to me.  My emotions have been all over the place.  I have cried more than once.  I feel a little better about all of that now, if I am right in a few days this bloated acky feeling will pass as will the weight that has suddenly jumped onto me. 


My plan had been to go to the gym this morning, but I hurt worse this morning than yesterday morning and realized that a day of rest for my poor muscles would probably be a not bad idea if I wanted to avoid injury or burnout.  So I slept in a little, and then went to work and when I came home the bf and I ended up going for another 2 mile walk.  It hurt a lot at first, then eased up, then hurt more again.  


So, of course, the plan for tomorrow is to hit the gym.  Depending on whether I can get to bed at a decent time or not will tell if I go before or after work.  


My water consumption has been better than usual; I have been staying around a hundred ounces a day.  So I am going about 3/4 as far as my goals: it's Tuesday and I have ridden my bike 5 of 15 miles; I have walked 4 miles; ran/walked 2 miles completing day 1 of my C25K; I have drank almost 300 ounces of water; and I have gained weight- but that's only temporary.  So I am going to try and not be a perfectionist about things and sabotage myself....by getting upset about not getting back to the gym yet.  I have exercised more than I did last in the past several weeks and that counts for something, right? 


My eating is far from perfect, but I will give that a few days before I try to make more changes to my lifestyle.  Sometimes too much is too much - and that goes for change too.  Even when it is positive change.  After 3 years on this journey I am still telling myself- slow and steady wins the race.  


Melissa